Please be advised that our website is under the improvement and it will be fully functional soon.

Close this search box.

IOC Sub-Commission for the Western Pacific (WESTPAC)

Advancing knowledge and cooperation for a healthy ocean and prosperous society

WESTPAC Advisory Group Ready to Move on

Five regional experts were newly elected to be the members of the WESTPAC Advisory Group in January 2013. These members will initially serve one term of two years 2013-2014, expected to take on their responsibility to provide scientific and technical advice on the development, planning and implementation of the activities of the IOC Sub-Commission for the Western Pacific (WESTPAC).

The Group will be chaired by Dr. Youn-Ho Lee (Republic of Korea) with composition of Dr. Somkiat Khokiattiwong (Thailand), Dr. Vo Si Tuan (Vietnam), Dr. Weidong Yu (China), Dr. Zainal Arifin (Indonesia), Dr. Kentaro Ando (Japan), Dr. Nor Aieni Haji Mokhtar (Malaysia ) and Dr. Gil Suico Jacinto (Philippines). The immediate task for this Group is how to advocate the 25th Anniversary of WESTPAC, organize the 9th WESTPAC international Scientific Symposium, Vietnam 2014, and other challenges being faced by this Sub-Commission to continuously demonstrate the power of marine scientific community with a view to assisting member countries in the sustainable development of their marine and coastal resources.

The WESTPAC Advisory Group was first formed in 2008 with the following composition for the period of 2008-2012: Dr. Yasuwo Fukuyo (Chair of the WESTPAC Advisory Group), Dr. Zhanhai Zhang, Dr. Nor Aieni Haji Mokhtar, Dr. Fangli Qiao, Dr. Yutaka Michida, Dr. Ir. John I. Pariwono and Dr. Maitree Duangsawasdi.